This review analyzes published product information. We have not performed detailed research of this unit.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

A defined configuration with an incomplete component map

This Empowered PC listing identifies the desktop as an HP Omen Max 45L equipped with a Ryzen 7 9800X3D, GeForce RTX 5080, 32GB of DDR5 memory and a 2TB Gen4 SSD. Those are the configuration anchors for this review; conclusions should not automatically carry over to other desktops bearing the 45L name.

This is a specification-based assessment of the retailer listing, not a hands-on test. The central buying question is whether that clearly identified CPU and GPU pairing outweighs the uncertainty around the motherboard, cooling assembly and upgrade layout. The listing supplies useful headline specifications but not the complete parts inventory a custom-build buyer would normally want.

The exact hardware described

Component Listed specification
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 9800X3D; 8 cores, 16 threads; 4.7GHz base, up to 5.2GHz boost
Graphics GeForce RTX 5080 with 16GB GDDR7 dedicated memory
System memory 32GB DDR5, listed at 4800
Storage 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen4 M.2 SSD
Cooling Liquid cooling advertised in the title; assembly details unspecified
Power supply 1200W Platinum designation in the title; manufacturer and model unspecified
Wireless Wi-Fi 6E, 802.11ax and Bluetooth 5.3
Operating system Windows 11 Pro x64
Included peripherals Wired RGB keyboard and mouse
Listed weight 49.82 pounds
Support Advertised lifetime technical and diagnostic support; three-year limited hardware warranty

Component balance: more informative than a gaming promise

The processor specification gives this configuration eight cores and sixteen threads, while the graphics specification establishes both the RTX 5080 identity and its 16GB memory allocation. That is more useful for comparing prebuilt configurations than an unqualified claim that a computer runs games smoothly. Nevertheless, these specifications alone do not establish performance in a particular game, at a chosen resolution or with specific visual settings.

The 32GB system-memory capacity and 2TB SSD provide a sensible starting point for a gaming desktop that also handles background applications and local game storage. Actual suitability depends on your software and library size. Neither capacity should be mistaken for evidence about memory tuning or sustained SSD performance.

Memory is an area to inspect carefully: the listing specifies DDR5-4800 but does not identify the module count, timings or supported memory profiles. Do not assume a particular channel arrangement or that faster settings are enabled. Similarly, the Gen4 M.2 description establishes the storage interface and form factor, not the SSD manufacturer, flash type or endurance. These omissions matter when comparing this prebuilt with a fully itemized build.

Cooling and power do not settle upgrade compatibility

The title advertises liquid cooling and a 1200W Platinum power supply. Those details are worth noting, but neither is a substitute for an exact part number. The evidence does not identify the radiator dimensions, pump, fan layout or which components the liquid-cooling system serves. It therefore cannot establish noise levels, temperatures or behavior under prolonged load.

Likewise, the stated power rating does not by itself prove that a future graphics card will fit or connect correctly. PSU connectors, cable provision and physical clearances remain unspecified. Buyers considering upgrades should request those details rather than treating the wattage as a blanket compatibility guarantee.

The motherboard model, available expansion slots, occupied memory slots and spare storage connections are also absent. That limits how confidently you can plan a second SSD, additional memory or a later processor change. Ask for a motherboard identification and internal layout before buying parts. At a listed 49.82 pounds, this is also a desktop to position thoughtfully; dimensions are still needed to check desk or under-desk clearance.

USB connectivity needs one important clarification

The detailed feature list describes one top USB-C port rated at 10Gbps, plus two rear USB-C ports at the same stated speed. That totals three, whereas the title refers to two. Treat the count as unresolved until the seller confirms the shipped configuration. One rear USB-C connection is listed with DisplayPort 1.4 capability, but the evidence does not describe its display-routing limitations or the graphics card’s own output arrangement.

The remaining listed connections include two top and two rear USB-A ports at 5Gbps, four rear USB 2.0 Type-A ports, a top headset combination jack and separate rear audio connections. An RJ-45 socket is included, but its network speed is not stated. Wi-Fi 6E and Bluetooth 5.3 are specified; neither establishes real-world wireless throughput in your room.

This is a useful spread of connection types for wired peripherals and external devices. Before selecting a monitor or dock, however, obtain the exact graphics-output list and confirmation of the USB-C capabilities you need.

Support terms and the purchase decision

Empowered PC advertises US assembly, pre-shipment stress testing, lifetime technical and diagnostic support, and a three-year limited hardware warranty. These are seller claims, not independently verified service outcomes. Because the brand field names Empowered PC while the title uses HP Omen branding, confirm who handles warranty claims and which components the coverage includes. Do not infer HP-direct service from the family name alone.

The included wired RGB keyboard and mouse cover those peripheral categories, but their models and specifications are not supplied. For a broader configuration-shopping checklist, see our gaming desktop buying guide; it is not evidence of this system’s relative value.

Frequently asked questions

What information should buyers request before purchasing?

Buyers should request the motherboard identification, internal layout, radiator dimensions, pump and fan details, PSU manufacturer and model, available connectors, physical clearances, exact graphics outputs and warranty handling information. They should also confirm the shipped USB-C count and capabilities. These details would clarify upgrade planning, monitor or dock compatibility and who handles warranty claims.

Can the listed 1200W power supply guarantee future graphics-card compatibility?

No, the 1200W Platinum designation does not guarantee future graphics-card compatibility. The listing does not identify the power-supply manufacturer or model, connector provision or physical clearances. The review therefore treats wattage as useful headline information rather than a blanket upgrade guarantee, and recommends confirming the relevant PSU connections and internal space before purchasing parts.

What does the memory and storage information leave unknown?

The listing identifies 32GB of DDR5 memory at 4800 and a 2TB PCIe NVMe Gen4 M.2 SSD, but it does not specify module count, timings, supported memory profiles, SSD manufacturer, flash type or endurance. As a result, readers cannot assume a particular memory channel arrangement, faster settings or a specific level of storage performance.

Does the desktop include everything needed for a monitor or dock setup?

Not necessarily, because the exact graphics-output list and USB-C capabilities remain unresolved. The listing describes one top USB-C port and two rear USB-C ports at 10Gbps, while the title refers to two. One rear USB-C port is listed with DisplayPort 1.4 capability, but its display-routing limitations are not described, so buyers should confirm the shipped configuration first.

Verdict: appealing specification, conditional recommendation

This exact 9800X3D and RTX 5080 configuration merits consideration if its listed CPU, graphics memory and storage capacity match your plans. The strongest reason to pause is incomplete component disclosure, not a demonstrated defect. Confirm the motherboard, cooling hardware, PSU connectors, display outputs and warranty process before treating it as an upgrade-friendly alternative to an itemized custom build.

Sources: Supplied retailer listing and configuration details.

Check the exact product and current offer on Amazon

HP 0men Max 45L RTX 5080, Ryzen 7 9800X3D, 32GB DDR5 RAM, 2TB Gen4 SSD, Liquid-Cooled Gaming PC w/ 1200W Platinum PSU, WiFi 6E, Windows 11 Pro, 2x10Gbps USB-C & RGB Keyboard/Mouse

Related guides

Browse all Reviews guides →